Undefined variable: webAddres /data/httpd/html/agpb/templateProjekt.phtml 21 8

Green Planet Building
© Chalabi Architects

Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center

Al Ain, United Arab Emirates

A gigantic sustainable tourism project is taking shape in the city of Al Ain by order of the government in Abu Dhabi – a 400-hectar wildlife park and resort with hotels, themed safaris, residential areas and the associated infrastructure.

The first building to go up as part of the master plan was the Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center, planned as a museum and research centre for desert environments and ecological issues. Pioneering state-of-the-art architecture and technology, this building (total investment cost 56 million EUR) proves that sustainable building concepts can be implemented in desert locations, too. The aim was to reduce environmental impact and life-cycle costs significantly with the aid of innovative designs and technologies.

The starting-point for the architectural approach was the idea that the building ought to grow out of the landscape and adapt to its harsh, rugged surroundings in terms of design. The architects planned a walk-in sculpture in the shape of a three-dimensional spiral, the highest point of which towers almost 20 metres above the desert landscape. Covering roughly 14,000 m2, the structure is grouped around an enclosed courtyard, and leads up to an elevated vantage zone that offers a fine view of the Wildlife Park and the rugged ridges of Jebel Hafeet, one of the highest mountains in the United Arab Emirates.

Construction involved mainly local materials; for instance, the entire building shell is clad with natural sandstone from neighbouring Oman. The lozenge structure of the façade results from the stone receiving differing surface treatment, to create smooth and rough surfaces.

A key issue in hot climates is how to cool buildings; as a rule this consumes a great deal of energy. The Desert Learning Center reveals how the architectural design can help to keep down energy consumption for cooling.

The building lies partially submerged into the ground to some extent – one-third of its cubic content lies below ground level. The entrance area faces north. A low heat transfer coefficient, coupled with the considerable thermal mass of the outer shell (made up of massive concrete walls with an insulated sandstone façade plus air gap behind) greatly reduces the amount of energy needed to cool the building. A roofed enclosed courtyard and a shaded outside court also help to benefit the building‘s climate.

The deep window recesses and roof overhangs above the large glass façades minimize the amount of direct sunlight entering. But enough daylight is still emitted into the building to illuminate the interior efficiently, in conjunction with the building‘s pioneering approach to lighting.

More Information

Research Center, Museum, Office building
Realisation 2012. Square: 14.000 m²

Investment: 56 Mio EUR

Energy and Environment:

  • Solarthermie/Geothermie for Cooling 352 kW
  • Photovoltaics 150 kWp
  • Efficient Lighting LED
  • Dynamic Building Simulation
  • Water-saving vacuum technology, rainwater treatment, process water usage
  • Optimized building concept for reducing thermal loads
  • Use of local building materials

Key technical data of the solar cooling system:

  • Cooling capacity of lithium / bromide absorption chillers: 352 kW
  • Collector: 1134 m2 high temperature collectors
  • Capacity of hot-water storage tanks: 2 × 13 m3
  • Capacity of cold-water storage tank: 5 m3
  • Recooling: 6 closed-circuit cooling towers in conjunction with compression chiller
  • Solar yield: 825 kWh / m2a

Key technical data of PV equipment:

  • Rated capacity 150 kWp
  • 1030 panels measuring approx. 1 × 1 m
  • Individual panel rating 145 W
  • Sandwich design with two glass layers 2 mm thick
  • Framed modules bolted to customized supports

Building Labels

LEED™ Platinum, ESTIDAMA 5 Pearls

Pictures and Drawings

  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
Did you forget your password?
Not yet registered?
close

Undefined variable: webAddres /data/httpd/html/agpb/templateProjekt.phtml 21 8

Green Planet Building
© Chalabi Architects

Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center

Al Ain, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate

Das Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center besticht durch herausragende Architektur ebenso wie durch umfassende Berücksichtigung von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten bei der Energieeffizienz und Versorgung mit erneuerbaren Energieträgern.

Im Auftrag der Regierung in Abu Dhabi entstand in der Stadt Al Ain ein gigantisches Tourismusprojekt nach nachhaltigen Kriterien – ein 400 ha großer Wildlife Park und Resort mit Hotels, Themenparks, Wohnbereichen und der dazugehörigen Infrastruktur.

Das erste Objekt, das im Rahmen des Masterplans realisiert wurde, ist das Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center, das als Museum und Forschungszentrum für Wüstenlandschaften und Umweltthemen konzipiert ist. Mit diesem architektonisch und technisch höchst innovativen Bauwerk (Gesamtinvestition 56 Mio. EUR) wird demonstriert, dass nachhaltige Gebäudekonzepte auch in der Wüste umsetzbar sind. Ziel war es, mit Hilfe innovativer Bauweisen und Technologien eine beachtliche Reduktion von Umwelteinflüssen und Lebenszykluskosten zu erreichen.

Ausgangspunkt für das architektonische Konzept war die Idee, dass sich das Gebäude aus der Landschaft entwickeln und in seiner Ausformung und Gestaltung an die raue, zerfurchte Umgebung anpassen soll. Die Architekten entwarfen eine begehbare Skulptur in Form einer Raumspirale, die an ihrer höchsten Stelle fast 20 Meter über die Wüstenlandschaft ragt. Der rund 14.000 m2 große Baukörper entwickelt sich um einen zentralen Innenhofbereich und mündet in einen hoch gelegen Aussichtsbereich, der den Blick auf den Wildlife Park und die zerklüfteten Bergrücken des Jebel Hafeet, den höchsten Berg der Arabischen Emirate, eröffnet.

Es kamen großteils lokale Baumaterialien zum Einsatz, so wurde etwa die komplette Gebäudehülle mit Natursteinen aus dem benachbarten Oman gestaltet. Durch eine unterschiedliche Oberflächenbehandlung des Sandsteins wurden glatte und raue Flächen geschaffen, die die rautenförmige Fassadenstruktur bilden.

Eine zentrale Herausforderung beim Bauen in heißen Klimaregionen ist die Kühlung von Gebäuden, die in der Regel einen sehr hohen Energiebedarf erzeugt. Wie schon das architektonische Konzept dazu beitragen kann, den Kühlbedarf maßgeblich zu reduzieren, zeigt das Desert Learning Center.

Das Gebäude wurde in die Tiefe gebaut – ein Drittel der Kubatur liegt unterhalb des Terrains. Die Gebäudeeingangszone ist nach Norden ausgerichtet. Durch den geringen Wärmedurchgangskoeffizienten und die hohe Speichermasse der Außenhülle, die durch massive Betonwände mit einer gedämmten und hinterlüfteten Sandsteinfassade erreicht wurden, konnte der Kühlbedarf des Gebäudes entscheidend verringert werden. Der Bau hat einen überdachten Innenhof sowie einen schattigen Hof im Außenbereich, wodurch eine weitere Klimaregulierung bewirkt wird.

Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verringerung des Kühlbedarfs leisten auch die tiefen Laibungen der Fenster und die Dachvorsprünge vor den großen Glasfassaden, die den Einfall des direkten Sonnenlichts minimieren. Dennoch wird ausreichend Tageslicht in das Gebäude gelenkt, so dass in Kombination mit dem innovativen Lichtkonzept für eine energiesparende Ausleuchtung der Innenräume gesorgt ist.

Das Sheikh Zayed Desert Learning Center ist ein nahezu energieautarkes Gebäude, das dank Solarthermie, Erdkühlung und Photovoltaik die Grundlast nahezu durchgehend zu 80 % selbst über erneuerbare Energien bereitstellen kann. Durch die sinnvolle Kombination von aktiver und passiver Solarenergienutzung sowie den Einsatz von wasser- und energiesparenden Systemen konnte das Gebäude im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit höchste Kriterien erfüllen.

Weitere Projektinformationen

Forschungszentrum, Museum, Bürogebäude
Fertiggestellt 2012. Fläche: 14.000 m²

Gesamtinvestition: 56 Mio EUR

Energie- und Umweltaspekte:

  • Solarthermie/Geothermie für Kühlung 352 kW
  • PV-Anlage 150 kWp
  • Effiziente Lichttechnik LED
  • Dynamische Gebäudesimulation
  • Wassersparende Vakuumtechnologie, Regenwasseraufbereitung, Brauchwassernutzung
  • Optimiertes Gebäudekonzept zur Reduktion thermischer Lasten
  • Verwendung lokaler Baustoffe

Key technical data of the solar cooling system:

  • Cooling capacity of lithium/bromide absorption chillers: 352 kW
  • Collector: 1134 m2 high temperature collectors
  • Capacity of hot-water storage tanks: 2×13 m3
  • Capacity of cold-water storage tank: 5 m3
  • Recooling: 6 closed-circuit cooling towers in conjunction with compression chiller
  • Solar yield: 825 kWh/m2a

Key technical data of PV equipment:

  • Rated capacity 150 kWp
  • 1030 panels measuring approx. 1×1 m
  • Individual panel rating 145 W
  • Sandwich design with two glass layers 2 mm thick
  • Framed modules bolted to customized supports

Gebäudelabel

LEED™ Platinum, ESTIDAMA 5 Pearls

Fotos und Grafiken

  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
  • © Chalabi Architects
Passwort vergessen?
close